Eight countries are losing their right to vote in the UN General Assembly until recently

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Iran and Venezuela are among eight countries that lost their right to vote in the United Nations General Assembly yesterday, Wednesday until recently.

In a letter to the UN General Assembly released yesterday, UN Secretary-General Antonio Guterres clarified that the minimum amount to be paid by the Islamic Republic to regain this right is $ 18.4 million. while for the Latin American country in deep economic crisis is 39.8 million dollars. Sudan will have to pay about $ 300,000.

The Democratic Republic of the Congo is also among the countries that lost the right to vote. Under the rules in force at the Agency, this right is lost to those whose debts are equal to or higher than their annual contribution to its budget for a period of two years.

In all, “11 Member States are currently delaying the repayment of their contributions, as set out in Article 19 of the Charter of the United Nations,” the UN chief said in a letter, a copy of which was in the possession of the French agency yesterday.

The other countries that lost their voting rights are Antigua and Barbuda, the islands of Vanuatu, Guinea and Papua New Guinea.

Last year, Iran also lost its voting rights due to unpaid debts. Tehran had protested strongly, arguing that it was unable to meet the minimum required amount due to Washington’s financial sanctions. After months of negotiations, it was agreed to be excluded.

“Iran has pledged to pay the full amount due, but” unfortunately, for the second year in a row, due to illegal US sanctions, our country is finding it difficult to make payments, “the Islamic Republic’s foreign ministry said.

Source: ΑΠΕ-ΜΠΕ


Source From: Capital

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.