untitled design

Film Independent Spirit Awards 2024: see the winners

The award Film Independent Spirit Awards 2024 took place in the city of Santa Monica, California, United States, on Sunday night (25).

The event, which had its 39th edition today, awards the best independent productions of cinema and television North American, as well as actors and other professionals involved. See the winners below.

Check out the nominees and winners

Best movie

“Past lives”.

Also competing:

  • “All of us unknown”;
  • “American Fiction”;
  • “May December: Secrets of a Scandal”;
  • “Passages”; It is
  • We Grown Now.”

Best First Film

“A Thousand and One”.

Also competing:

  • “All Dirt Roads Taste of Salt”;
  • “Chronicles of a Wandering Saint”;
  • “Earth Mama”; It is
  • “Upon Entry”.

Best Documentary

“Four Daughters”.

Also competing:

  • “Bye Bye Tiberias”;
  • “Going to Mars: The Nikki Giovanni Project”;
  • “Kokomo City”; It is
  • “The Mother of All Lies”.

Best International Film

“Anotomy of a Fall”.

Also competing:

  • “Godland”;
  • “Mami Wata”;
  • “Totem”; It is
  • “The Zone of Interest”.

Best direction

Celine Song, for “Vidas Passadas”.

Also competing:

  • Andrew Haigh, for “All of Us Strangers”;
  • Todd Haynes, for “May December: Secrets of a Scandal”;
  • William Oldroyd, for “Eileen”; It is
  • Ira Sachs, for “Passages”.

Best protagonist performance

Jeffrey Wright, for “American Fiction”.

Also competing:

  • Jessica Chastain, for “Memory”;
  • Greta Lee, for “Past Lives”;
  • Trace Lysette, for “Monica”;
  • Natalie Portman, for “May December: Secrets of a Scandal”;
  • Judy Reyes, for “Birth/Rebirth”;
  • Franz Rogowski, for “Passages”;
  • Andrew Scott, for “All of Us Strangers”;
  • Teyana Taylor, for “A Thousand and One”; It is
  • Teo Yoo, for “Past Lives”.

Best Supporting Performance

Da'Vine Joy Randolph, for “The Excluded”.

Also competing:

  • Erika Alexander, for “American Fiction”;
  • Sterling K. Brown, for “American Fiction”;
  • Noah Galvin, for “Theater Camp”;
  • Anne Hathaway, for “Eileen”;
  • Glenn Howerton, for “BlackBerry”;
  • Marin Ireland, for “Eileen”;
  • Charles Melton, for “May December: Secrets of a Scandal”;
  • Catalina Saavedra, for “Rotting in the Sun”; It is
  • Ben Whishaw, for “Passages”.

Best Breakthrough Interpretation

Dominic Sessa, for “The Excluded”.

Also competing:

  • Marshawn Lynch, for “Bottoms”;
  • Atibon Nazaire, for “Mountains”;
  • Aunt Nomore, for “Earth Mama”; It is
  • Anaita Wali Zada, for “Fremont”.

Best Argument

Cord Jefferson, “American Fiction.”

The following competed with him:

  • David Hemingson, “The Excluded”;
  • Laura Moss and Brendan J. O'Brien, for “Birth/Rebirth”;
  • Emma Seligman and Rachel Sennott, for “Bottoms”; It is
  • Celine Song for “Vidas Passadas”.

Best First Argument

Samy Burch; Story by Samy Burch, Alex Mechanik, for “May December: Secrets of a Scandal”;

Also competing:

  • Noah Galvin, Molly Gordon, Nick Lieberman, Ben Platt, for “Theater Camp”;
  • Tomás Gómez Bustillo, for “Chronicles of a Wandering Saint”;
  • Laurel Parmet, for “The Starling Girl”; It is
  • Alejandro Rojas, Juan Sebastián Vásquez, for “Upon Entry”.

Best Assembly

Daniel Garber, for “How to Blow Up a Pipeline”.

Also competing:

  • Santiago Cendejas, Gabriel Díaz, Sofía Subercaseaux, for “Rotting in the Sun”;
  • Stephanie Filo, for “We Grown Now”;
  • Jon Philpot, for “Theater Camp”;
  • Emanuele Tiziani, for “Upon Entry”.

Best Photography

Eigil Bryld, for “The Excluded”.

Also competing:

  • Katelin Arizmendi, for “Monica”;
  • Jomo Fray, for “All Dirt Roads Taste of Salt”;
  • Pablo Lozano, for “Chronicles of a Wandering Saint”; It is
  • Pat Scola, for “We Grown Now”.

Robert Altman Award

“Showing Up”
Director: Kelly Reichardt
Casting director: Gayle Keller
Cast: André Benjamin, Hong Chau, Judd Hirsch, Heather Lawless, James Le Gros, John Magaro, Matt Malloy, Amanda Plummer, Maryann Plunkett, Denzel Rodriguez, Michelle Williams.

John Cassavettes Award


Also competing:

  • “The Artifice Girl”;
  • “Cadejo Blanco”;
  • “Rotting in the Sun”; It is
  • “The Unknown Country”.

Best documentary series

“Dear Mama.”

Also competing:

  • “Deadlocked: How America Shaped the Supreme Court”;
  • “Murder in Big Horn”;
  • “Stolen Youth: Inside the Cult at Sarah Lawrence”; It is
  • “Wrestlers.”

Best new fiction series


Also competing:

  • “Dreaming Whilst Black”;
  • “I'm a Virgo”;
  • “Jury Duty”; It is
  • “Slip.”

Best interpretation of a protagonist in a fiction series

Ali Wong, for “Treta”.

Also competing:

  • Emma Corrin, for “A Murder at the End of the World”;
  • Dominique Fishback, for “Swarm”;
  • Betty Gilpin, for “Mrs. Davis”;
  • Jharrel Jerome, for “I'm a Virgo”;
  • Zoe Lister-Jones, for “Slip”;
  • Bel Powley, for “A Small Light”;
  • Bella Ramsey, for “The Last of Us”;
  • Ramón Rodríguez, for “Will Trent”; It is
  • Steven Yeun, for “Treta”.

Best Supporting Performance in a Fiction Series

Nick Offerman, for “The Last of Us”.

  • Murray Bartlett, for “The Last of Us”;
  • Billie Eilish, for “Swarm”;
  • Jack Farthing, for “Rain Dogs”;
  • Adina Porter, for “The Changeling”;
  • Lewis Pullman, for “Lessons in Chemistry”;
  • Benny Safdie, for “The Curse”;
  • Luke Tennie, for “Shrinking”;
  • Olivia Washington, for “I'm a Virgo”; It is
  • Jessica Williams, for “Shrinking”.

Revelation award for a fiction series

Keivonn Montreal Woodard, for “The Last of Us”.

Also competing:

  • Clark Backo, for “The Changeling”;
  • Aria Mia Loberti, for “All the Light We Cannot See”;
  • Adjani Salmon, for “Dreaming Whilst Black”; It is
  • Kara Young, “I'm a Virgo”.

Best Cast in a Fiction Series

“Jury Duty”.

Cast: Alan Barinholtz, Susan Berger, Cassandra Blair, David Brown, Kirk Fox, Ross Kimball, Pramode Kumar, Trisha LaFache, Mekki Leeper, James Marsden, Edy Modica, Kerry O'Neill, Rashida Olayiwola, Whitney Rice, Maria Russell, Ishmel Sahid, Ben Seaward, Ron Song, and Evan Williams.

*Published by Pedro Jordão, from CNN in Sao Paulo

Source: CNN Brasil

You may also like

Dior, anatomy of freedom

Dior, anatomy of freedom

This article is published in issue 18 of Vanity Fair on newsstands until April 30, 2024. Join your hands proudly.

Get the latest

Stay Informed: Get the Latest Updates and Insights


Most popular