National Geographic has acknowledged the existence of the fifth ocean, now it will be mapped

- Advertisement -

The fifth ocean, the South, will be mapped from National Geographic. Reported by National Geographic.

- Advertisement -

As noted, National Geographic has been issuing maps since 1915, and four oceans have always been marked on them: the Atlantic, Pacific, Indian and Arctic.

Today, June 8, 2021, World Oceans Day, National Geographic cartographers have recognized the fifth, the Southern Ocean.

- Advertisement -

In nautical names, National Geographic focuses on the International Hydrographic Organization (IHO). In 1937, the IHO recognized the Southern Ocean, but in 1953 it canceled this decision under pressure from the scientific community.

Scientists have reportedly debated for years whether the waters around Antarctica have unique characteristics or are an extension of neighboring oceans.

The US Geographic Names Board has been using this name since 1999, and in February 2021, the US National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration officially recognized the Southern Ocean as a separate region.

The Southern Ocean includes most of the waters surrounding Antarctica up to 60 degrees south latitude, except for the Drake Passage and the Scotia Sea.

All other oceans are determined by the continents that enclose them, and the South by the Antarctic circumpolar current, which appeared about 34 million years ago.

The recognition of the Southern Oken is reportedly consistent with the Society’s Ocean Conservation Initiative.

Read also: “Flying” icebergs have been noticed from “Academician Vernadsky”. This is not what it seems – NANTS

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Hot Topics

Related Articles