untitled design

South Korea will require a 10-day quarantine for everyone arriving in the country

South Korea will mandate a 10-day quarantine for all international travelers arriving in the country, including Korean nationals. The requirement will take effect on December 3 and will remain in effect for two weeks, as reported by the Korean Disease Control and Prevention (KDCA) on Wednesday (1).

The decision was taken on the same day that five cases of the variant coronavirus Ômicron were reported in the country, in travelers from Nigeria.

The mandate applies to travelers from all countries, regardless of their vaccination status, said the KDCA.

Korean nationals and foreign nationals, on a long-term stay, can be quarantined at home, while foreign nationals staying for less than 90 days must be quarantined at a government-designated facility.

Quarantine exemptions will only be granted in a limited set of special circumstances, such as attending a funeral, the statement said.

South Korea will also ban foreigners on short stays – less than 90 days – from Nigeria from entering the country from Friday (3).

On Saturday, South Korea banned foreigners from short-term stays in eight African countries: South Africa, Botswana, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Lesotho, Eswatini, Malawi and Mozambique. Korean nationals and foreigners on long-term stays can still enter the country.

Starting on Saturday, South Korea will also suspend direct flights from Ethiopia for two weeks. The government will provide non-scheduled flights for Korean citizens to return from African countries, added the KDCA.

(Text translated, read original in English here)

Reference: CNN Brasil

You may also like

Get the latest

Stay Informed: Get the Latest Updates and Insights


Most popular