The Securities and Futures Commission of Hong Kong (SFC) has published a list of cryptocurrency exchanges that have the right to apply for a license to operate in this special region of the PRC.

According to the document, the applicants included 16 trading platforms: HKbitEX, VDX, HKVAX, PantherTrade, Accumulus, DFX Labs,, xWhale, bitV, YAX, Bullish,, WhaleFin, Matrixport HK, HKX, bitcoinworld.

The agency clarified: the list is regularly updated, and operating companies of sites listed on the list may not receive a license if they fill out applications incorrectly or do not solve “their fundamental problems.”

Among the companies registered in offshore companies, only Singaporean was included in the list of applicants. A number of other similar offshore firms, including OKX, Bybit, HTX and Binance, have withdrawn their applications to operate in Hong Kong.

According to cryptocurrency journalist Colin Wu, the SFC has required companies to provide guarantees that they will not serve clients from mainland China located in any region of the world.

Bloomberg previously reported that the SFC is considering enabling a staking option for issuers of spot exchange-traded funds (ETFs) for ether.