untitled design

US approves the entry of Finland and Sweden into NATO

US President Joe Biden said on Tuesday that the country agreed to include Finland and Sweden as members of the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO).

The president highlighted that the accession of the two European countries will make the group stronger.

“Finland and Sweden will make NATO stronger. Today, I signed the US Instruments of Ratification, making the United States the 23rd Ally to approve its membership of NATO.

Finland and Sweden applied to join the group in May 2022 in response to the invasion of Ukraine for the Russia .

With the endorsement of the United States, the parliament of seven member countries has yet to ratify the accession of the Finland and gives Sweden to (NATO). They are: Czech Republic, Greece, Hungary, Portugal, Slovakia, Spain and Turkey.

Source: CNN Brasil

You may also like

Most popular