The digital ruble officially becomes the third form of the national currency of Russia, in addition to cash and non-cash.

As follows from the law signed by President Vladimir Putin, legal entities and individuals get the opportunity to use the digital ruble as a means of payments and transfers throughout the country. Relevant amendments made
to the Civil Code, and the main provisions of the new law will come into force on 1 August

Operations in digital rubles will be carried out through a special information system. It is assumed that for citizens, transfers and payments in digital rubles will be free, and for commercial structures – for a commission of 0.3% of the payment amount.

The new form of the national currency is intended to be stored on the balance of digital wallets, access to which is planned to be organized directly through the mobile applications of commercial banks. The Bank of Russia has been appointed the issuer of the digital ruble and the operator of the payment system.

Earlier, the head of the Central Bank, Elvira Nabiullina, assured that the use of the digital ruble would be “absolutely voluntary” – CBDC would only be “an additional opportunity for people.”