untitled design

X-Men: in what order to watch the franchise films?

For those who like superhero films, the group of mutants led by Professor Xavier is responsible for one of Marvel's best franchises: the X-Men .

Several films about mutants have already been released, some focusing on the class's challenges, and others that clarify the origin (and end) of specific characters.

Even in the “Deadpool ” the X-Men make some appearances — and the new film, “Deadpool & Wolverine”, which will be released in 2024, features one of the most beloved mutants as a co-protagonist.

However, throughout the 11 films that portray the group of mutants, the chronology of the story can become a little confusing, as the works were released in a non-linear way.

Therefore, the CNN listed the films in release order and chronological order to help those who want to marathon the franchise.

Release order of the “X-Men” films

  1. “X-Men: The Movie” (2000)
  2. “X-Men 2” (2003)
  3. “X-Men 3: The Last Stand” (2006)
  4. “X-Men Origins: Wolverine” (2009)
  5. “X-Men: First Class” (2011)
  6. “Wolverine immortal” (2013)
  7. “X-Men: Days of Future Past” (2014)
  8. “X-Men: Apocalypse” (2016)
  9. “Logan” (2017)
  10. “X-Men: Dark Phoenix” (2019)

Chronological order of “X-Men” films

For those who want to watch the franchise's films in chronological order, following the timeline of events, the CNN I ordered the features according to the year in which the stories take place.

However, as any attentive fan can notice, the back and forth in time has caused some small contradictions to exist between the films — but nothing that hinders the experience of watching them.

1. “X-Men: First Class” (2011)

The film begins in 1944, in the Auschwitz concentration camp. The story unfolds throughout 1962, to show the origins of the group of mutants and of Charles Xavier and Erik Lehnsherr, who would later become Professor Xavier and Magneto.

2. “X-Men: Days of Future Past” (2014)

The film has two timelines: the first takes place in 1973, and the other takes place in an alternative dystopian version of 2023, in which mutants live in prison. Wolverine is sent to the past to try to stop an event and change the future.

3. “X-Men Origins: Wolverine” (2009)

The film begins at the end of the 19th century, but the main story takes place in 1979, to show how Wolverine gained his adamantium claws. It is also in this film that we are introduced, for the first time, to Wade Wilson, who would become Deadpool.

4. “X-Men: Apocalypse” (2016)

Most of the film's story takes place in 1983, when the X-Men have to face a mutant enemy called Apocalypse, who intends to destroy the world and humanity.

5. “X-Men: Dark Phoenix” (2019)

The film presents the story of Jean Gray's transformation into a Phoenix. Although the story begins in 1975, the majority of the film takes place in 1992.

6. “X-Men: The Movie” (2000)

The first film in the franchise was not only released in 2000, but is also set in the same period. The film features both the X-Men and the Brotherhood of Mutants.

7. “X-Men 2” (2003)

The film also takes place in the same period in which it was released, in 2003. In the story, the X-Men are forced to unite with their mutant enemies to avoid being exterminated by the United States government.

8. “X-Men 3: The Last Stand” (2006)

The last film in the original trilogy is also set in its year of release, in 2006. The government finds a “cure” for mutations and leaves mutants in a difficult situation as they are forced to choose a side. The film also tells the story of Jean Gray as Phoenix.

9. “Immortal Wolverine” (2013)

The film takes place in 2013 and shows Wolverine dealing with the loss of Jean Gray and works as a sequel to both “X-Men Origins: Wolverine” and “X-Men 3: The Last Stand”.

10. “Logan” (2017)

The Wolverine-focused film takes place in the future, in 2029, a time in which mutants are almost extinct. Logan is already older, but he decides to help a young mutant child deal with his powers.

Where does “Deadpool & Wolverine” fit into the “X-Men” chronology?

The third film starring Ryan Reynolds as Deadpool brings back another antihero that fans didn't expect to see so soon: Wolverine, played by Hugh Jackman.

Ryan Reynolds and Hugh Jackman in the new film "Deadpool and Wolverine"

The two actors explained that the events of “Logan”, which takes place in the future, in 2029, will not be changed in “Deadpool & Wolverine”.

Although it's unclear what year exactly the film will take place in, the story takes place after the events of “Deadpool 2” and definitely before 2029.

“It’s something totally separate,” explained Reynolds, in a video on his social media. “We won’t touch it. [nos acontecimentos de “Logan”].”

Where to watch the “X-Men” movies?

All films in the “X-Men” franchise are available on Disney+ as well as the “Deadpool” films.

See which Marvel releases are scheduled for 2024 and 2025

Source: CNN Brasil

You may also like

Get the latest

Stay Informed: Get the Latest Updates and Insights


Most popular