At least 16 countries report cases of the Ômicron variant

- Advertisement -

The Ômicron variant, considered a variant of concern by the WHO, has been of concern to authorities around the world. Second survey carried out by CNN, so far, at least 16 countries have registered cases of infection by the strain.

The first case of infection by the mutation was reported to WHO from South Africa on 24 December. According to the World Health Organization, it “has a large number of mutations, some of which are worrisome. Preliminary evidence suggests an increased risk of reinfection with this variant compared to other variants of concern.”

- Advertisement -

See where the variant has already been detected:

  • Botswana
  • South Africa
  • Hong Kong
  • Israel
  • Belgium
  • England
  • Scotland
  • Germany
  • Italy
  • Holland
  • Denmark
  • Portugal
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Australia
  • Canada

To contain the spread of mutation, countries around the world have closed their borders to African countries – among them, Brazil.

- Advertisement -

As of midnight today (29), national borders are closed to six African countries, including South Africa, Botswana, Swatini, Lesotho, Namibia and Zimbabwe.

Reference: CNN Brasil

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Hot Topics

Related Articles