Coronavirus: EU Council recommendation for travel destinations to Rwanda and Thailand

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Following the review under the Recommendation on the phasing out of temporary restrictions on unnecessary travel to the European Union, the Council of the EU updated the list of countries, special administrative areas and other entities and territorial authorities for which travel restrictions should be lifted for coronavirus.

In particular, the Rwanda and the Thailand were removed from the list and the Ukraine, according to a relevant announcement.

As set out in the Council Recommendation, this list will continue to reviewed regularly and, where applicable, to be updated.

Based on the criteria and conditions set out in the Recommendation, from 15 July 2021 onwards Member States should gradually lift travel restrictions at the external borders for residents of the following third countries:

  • Albania
  • Armenia
  • Australia
  • Azerbaijan
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Sultanate of Brunei
  • Canada
  • Israel
  • Japan
  • Jordan
  • Lebanon
  • Montenegro
  • New Zealand
  • Qatar
  • Republic of Moldova
  • Republic of Northern Macedonia
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Serbia
  • Singapore
  • South Korea
  • Ukraine (new addition)
  • United States of America
  • China, subject to confirmation of reciprocity

Travel restrictions should also be phased out for special administrative areas Hong Kong and Macau of China.

In the category of entities and territorial authorities not recognized as States by at least one Member State, travel restrictions for Kosovo (This name is used without prejudice to the positions of the regime and is in line with United Nations Security Council Resolution 1244/1999 and the International Court of Justice on Kosovo’s declaration of independence) and the Taiwan should also be phased out.

Besides, its inhabitants Andorra, του Monaco, του Of San Marino and his Vatican understood as permanent residents of the EU for the purposes of this Recommendation, as stated.

The Criteria to identify the third countries for which the current travel restriction should be lifted were updated on 20 May 2021. They cover the epidemiological situation and the overall treatment of COVID-19, as well as the reliability of the available information and data sources. Mutual reciprocity should also be taken into account on a case-by-case basis.

The affiliates also participate in this recommendation Schengen countries (Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, Switzerland).

Finally, it is recalled that the Council recommendation not is a legally binding act: “The authorities of the Member States remain responsible for implementing the content of the Recommendation. They may, with complete transparency, only gradually lift travel restrictions for the countries on the list. “Member States should not decide to lift travel restrictions for third countries not on the list unless this is decided in a coordinated manner.”

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.