untitled design

EU agrees to place four Russian media outlets on sanctions list

European Union (EU) ambassadors agreed in principle this Wednesday (15) to place four Russian media outlets on their sanctions list. EU Commissioner for Values ​​and Transparency Vera Jourova on social media platform X that the accusations are propaganda.

“Four Kremlin-linked propaganda networks (were) added to the sanctions list: Voice of Europe, RIA Novosti, Izvestija and Rossiyskaya Gazeta,” Jourova said. She also added that Russian funding to EU media outlets, non-governmental organizations and political parties was banned.

Both measures are part of a planned 14th package of sanctions against Russia over its large-scale invasion of Ukraine in 2022, according to a document Reuters saw last week. The bloc has already imposed sanctions on Russian state company Russia Today and Sputnik.

The EU did not immediately specify what measures would apply to media outlets added to the sanctions list. For media outlets already added previously, the sanctions meant they lost their EU broadcasting rights.

Russia warned the EU on Wednesday that if the bloc imposed restrictions on Russian media, Western reporters in Russia would feel a swift, harsh and painful response from the Russian state.

Source: CNN Brasil

You may also like

Get the latest

Stay Informed: Get the Latest Updates and Insights


Most popular