Luxembourg: None of NATO countries allowed to block Finland and Sweden’s accession

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Convinced that eventually all 30 NATO member states will support Sweden and Finland’s accession to NATO and “no country will take responsibility to prevent them”, said Luxembourg Foreign Minister Jean Asselborn, from the informal meeting of NATO ministers in Berlin.

“If both countries want it, then neither of the 30 countries is allowed to oppose (…) This is a game that would illuminate NATO in a very negative way and I hope it does not happen,” Asselborn said. None of the 30 countries, except Turkey, wants to block the accession of Sweden and Finland.

“Turkey is one of the 30 NATO countries. It has been an important partner for many years, but here the issue is security in Europe and especially in two countries, one of which has many kilometers of common border with Russia. “The problem is that one can no longer believe Putin, who once said that he was not going to attack the Ukrainians. If Sweden and Finland want it, then they will have all 30 countries on their side,” he said. Foreign Minister.

Referring to the evolution of NATO, Mr. Asselborn typically said that “from brain dead in 2019, it reached a rebirth in 2022, thanks to Putin.” NATO will grow, I am convinced, he said, adding that the Alliance will remain defensive, as has been the case since the day of the Russian invasion of Ukraine.

Source: AMPE

Source: Capital

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

buy kamagra buy kamagra online $255 payday loans online same day no denial payday loans direct lenders only