untitled design

Sanctions on four Russian media by the EU

The Vice-President of the European Commission for Values ​​and Transparency Vera Jourova announced through “X” that the ambassadors of the member states to the EU (Coreper) agreed yesterday, Wednesday, to impose sanctions “on four propaganda networks linked to the Kremlin”: Voice of Europe, RIA Novosti, Izvestija and Rossiyskaya Gazeta. According to Commission Vice President Jourova, member states also decided to ban Russian funding of EU media, NGOs and political parties. A European source confirmed to AMPE that the sanctions against the four Russian media outlets have been approved by Coreper and are part of the EU's 14th package of sanctions against Russia, which in total is still being processed. It is noted that the “Voice of Europe” network, based in Prague, has been at the center of investigations since last March for interference in the European Parliament before the European elections, following allegations by the Czech intelligence services that it is being financed by Moscow for the spreading Russian propaganda […]
Source: News Beast

You may also like

Get the latest

Stay Informed: Get the Latest Updates and Insights


Most popular