There is something new on WhatsApp useful for not burdening the archives, but also to give us more security when we need to send a file but we don’t want it to remain in the recipient’s memory (and therefore be forwarded): is the function «View Once», which allows you to send photographs and videos visible only once by the recipient, before being permanently deleted.
After testing the functionality with the beta for Android, View Once will arrive soon on all smartphones, including iOs devices, and exploiting it will be very simple: every time you try to send a photo or video with WhatsApp, the button will appear in the chat bar «View once», on which just click.
Here is a screenshot, unveiled – as is always the case with major messaging app updates – by WeBetaInfo:
Unlike the disappearing messages, deleted after seven days from the chat, photo and video content sent with View Once will disappear as soon as they are displayed and to give us confirmation will be a specific notification. Furthermore, by clicking on «Message information» you will be able to see at what time the content was sent, viewed and opened. Here is another example screenshot:
Launched to foster more intimate conversations and thus discourage the sharing of private content, View Once, however, has a flaw that could be exploited by malicious people: even if photos and videos cannot be forwarded, there is no filter that forbids taking screenshots or a system that alerts the sender in case the recipient has done so. The reason? Now there are several software that can bypass the controls, then the app is limited to relying on the responsibility of the users. In the gallery above some useful features to make the most of WhatsApp