untitled design

Liz Truss will take over as premier this Tuesday (6), after meeting with the Queen

The new Prime Minister of the United Kingdom, Liz Truss will officially assume the position this Tuesday (6), after meeting with Queen Elizabeth II, as determined by British tradition.

For the first time in history, Queen Elizabeth will not travel to London to carry out the premier’s appointment.

The meeting will take place at Balmoral – and no longer at Buckingham Palace in London. The reception at Balmoral is a historic first for his 70-year reign.

A Buckingham Palace spokesperson said the 96-year-old monarch will not make the roughly 1,600km round trip from Scotland and will instead travel to North London, followed by an audience with the elected.

Liz Truss was elected Prime Minister of the United Kingdom on Monday (5), becoming the third woman to hold the position. The Conservative was elected with almost 57.4% of the vote in an internal party vote.

His competitor, Rishi Sunak, received 43% of the vote.

In her first speech, Truss said she would take bold steps and thanked Boris Johnson, who resigned.

“I will take bold steps for all of us to get through these difficult times, grow our economy and unlock the UK’s potential,” Truss said.

She promised a “bold plan” to cut taxes and said it would address rising energy prices that are causing a cost-of-living crisis in the country.

Queen Elizabeth II and the British Prime Ministers

As the longest-serving monarch in UK history, Queen Elizabeth II has seen 14 prime ministers go through the head of government.

In the 70 years of Queen Elizabeth’s reign, ten conservative prime ministers have occupied the chair. In all, the 14 prime ministers who were ahead of the United Kingdom in the period were:

  • Winston Churchill (1940-1945 / 1951-1955)
  • Anthony Eden (1955-1957)
  • Harold Macmillan (1957-1963)
  • Sir Alec Douglas-Home (1963-1964)
  • Harold Wilson (1964-1970 / 1974-1976)
  • Edward Heath (1970-1974)
  • James Callaghan (1976-1979)
  • Margaret Thatcher (1979-1990)
  • John Major (1990-1997)
  • Tony Blair (1997-2007)
  • Gordon Brown (2007-2010)
  • David Cameron (2010-2016)
  • Theresa May (2016-2019)
  • Boris Johnson (2019-2022)

*With information from CNN International

Source: CNN Brasil

You may also like

Most popular